So today I’m talking about the Newton-Raphson algorithm and it is when we update our parameters using the ratio of a particular function over the derivative of the function and I lost you already, haven’t I?  Hmmm.  Well in other words, it tells you where you will end up if there is any change in your current situation.  So say, as a little girl on a trip to downtown Chicago, which we natives eloquently define as the area south of Lincoln park, I am taken to Adler Planetarium by my dad.  Seeing all that planet and star and science-y stuff might get me to thinking about becoming a physicist or something.  Never mind that my physics grade in college were somewhere on par with my organic chemistry grades and maybe I shouldn’t be writing science fiction books on theoretical physics and inter-dimensional travel but never mind that … moving on.   But let’s say there was a change of plans and my dad was too busy on his business trip doing business-y stuff to take me to the planetarium so instead my mom took me to the Art Institute.  And seeing all the paintings and sculptures and artsy stuff, I then decided to become an art teacher when I grew up.  So there you have it — the gist of the Newton-Raphson algorithm where the outcome depends on the sensitivity to the change in our plans.  Just like with Jane, I mean, with me during my trip to downtown Chicago. Wait … it’s too late, isn’t it?  You heard me say Jane, didn’t you?  And you suspect I’m talking about her alternative childhoods I wrote about in Revised Orders, don’t you?  Um … okay.  Still need more work on my subtlety.  Ah, well.  Until next time.  Speaking of the Art Institute though, here’s one of my favorite paintings from there from C.M. Coolidge’s Dogs Playing Poker series.

dogs-playing-poker

I mean, it’s dogs.  It’s poker.  What more do you want?

