So why would we want to do this?  Well, sometimes we just wanna transform the data and make it easier to work with and then transform them back.  That and it was sort of the basis of my dissertation and I kinda want to brag about it again.  So anyway, lets say Randy’s scientists pinpoint their target to somewhere between Houston and Atlanta.  So their target could be in New Orleans, one popular place for the APS March meetings and so would also be a good place for a movie prem … anyway.  Or if they narrow their target to be between Baltimore and Boston, then they can pinpoint him to say, Philadelphia.   Hmmm, Boston and Baltimore are also popular APS March meeting places and would be good for book sign … but anyway.  One way, we could numerically pinpoint the location between two points, say using the empirical cumulative distribution function (eCDF) values using the Barton and Schruben method!  And what is the Barton and Schruben method? And what do eCDFs look like? Good question — so we’ll cover that next time! But Barton and Schruben always had me thinking of Bart Simpson which made me think of this.

bart-simpson-chalkboard-1

Oh, Bart!  I’d be lucky just to make one movie! But perhaps my chalkboard should look like this then.   “I will not yet obsess over book signings/movie premieres … I will not yet obsess over book signings/movie premieres … I will not yet obsess over book signings/movie premieres … I will not yet obsess over book signings/movie premieres … ”

Anyway Cowbunga until next time!

