So I’ve actually attended the APS March Meeting in San Antonio this week and attended some cool talks on physics in medical research, physics and quantum computing, physics outreach, and you want to know one cool way that can help with outreach?  Oh yes, you do! C’mon!  All right. I’ll move on then. I also learned about something called the flat histogram.  Which I will attempt to explain here.  So here we go.  Okay, you’re ready?  Okay, me too.  Lets start now!  So it’s an algorithm where you keep resampling and update the variance, or how different the data points are from each other, until you look like you have a flat or uniform distribution.  So lets say at the meetings, I could stay at Hotel A, B, C, or D, most likely staying in Hotel A, which I get when I sample the first time.  But to add variation to my sampling, I decide to pick from only B, C, or D next time.  And if B is selected next time, I select from C or D the time after that and so on.  So our histogram will eventually become more flat like this.  So then eventually I would have an equal chance of staying at Hotel C, say, as I do of staying at Hotel A. Hotel C, that is, where I just attended a staged physics play. Like a staged play of Order of the Dimensions would also be cool. With these potential candidates for my fantasy cast.  With … yes, I’m stopping again.  So I’ll just leave you with a pic of the River Walk I took earlier during my trip.  The River Walk right by Hotel C where … yeah, okay, stopping now.

apsm

